← Back to Blog
Comparison September 6, 2026 · updated October 1, 2026 6 min read By Swapnil Patle, Product Head

How AI Visibility Tools Price Prompts: A Per-Prompt, Per-Engine Cost Comparison

Entry prices for AI visibility tools run from about $20 to $300 a month among the vendors that publish them, and the entry price is the least informative number on any of the pricing pages. What you are buying is tracked prompts, on a number of engines, at a cadence. This post converts every plan to two units, and the second one is not flattering to us.

Two units: per prompt-engine, and per answer

A "prompt" is one question the tool asks the engines on your behalf (we call them questions). Every tool includes a different number of prompts and engines, so the first comparable figure is price ÷ (prompts × engines): what it costs to watch one question on one engine for a month.

That figure ignores cadence. A daily tracker reads each prompt about 30 times a month; a weekly one about 4. So the second figure is price per answer: the monthly price divided by the answers the plan actually reads. On that measure the daily trackers are cheaper, often several times cheaper, and we would rather say so than hide it.

AEOTrack re-asks every question weekly, because re-asking the same day measures noise: an AI answer can name different brands from one ask to the next, so most day-to-day movement is the engine, not you. We read 3 pinned questions daily on Starter (10 on Pro, 25 on Agency) and you can re-run any question after a change. If you are running an experiment and want tomorrow’s answer, a daily tracker is the better buy.

Prices, rechecked 1 October 2026

ToolEntry planPromptsEngines includedCadencePer prompt-engine / monthPer answerChecked
AEOTrack Starter$39255: ChatGPT, Gemini, Claude, Perplexity, GrokWeekly; daily on 3 pinned$0.31about $0.04–0.071 Oct
Otterly.AI Lite$29 ($25 billed annually)154: ChatGPT, AI Overviews, Perplexity, Copilot; Claude +$29, Gemini +$9, AI Mode +$9Daily$0.48about $0.0161 Oct
Peec AI Starterabout €85–89 (not shown on peec.ai; third-party, unverified)about 503 of about 7; more at extra costDailyabout €0.57–0.59about €0.021 Oct
Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit$99 per domain, plus a Semrush subscription25up to 4Daily$0.99about $0.031 Oct
HubSpot AEO (beta)$50 ($45 billed annually), or in Marketing Hub Pro/Enterprise253not stated$0.67—1 Oct
Ahrefs Brand RadarAI Visibility Index $199, an add-on to Ahrefs; custom prompts from $50 for 2,500 checksindex-based5 indexesDaily, weekly or monthly—$0.02 a check on custom prompts1 Oct
Scrunch Starter$300 ($250 billed annually)350 custom7not stated$0.12—1 Oct
AthenaHQ Starter$295credit-based (3,600 credits)about 11not statedvaries by credit use—1 Oct
ProfoundEnterprise only, custom price; free trial of 7 days—up to 9Daily——1 Oct
Rankscale Pro$99credit-based17+—varies by credit use—5 Sep
Gauge$99not published————5 Sep
Similarweb AI Search$99–129not prompt-based————5 Sep
SE Visible$189not published4———5 Sep
Goodie Explorer$399not published————5 Sep

Per answer = monthly price ÷ (prompts × engines × reads a month): about 30 reads a month for daily trackers, about 4.3 for weekly ones. AEOTrack’s range is $39 ÷ 541 weekly answers (about $0.07), down to about $0.04 once the daily reads on 3 pinned questions are counted. Prices were read from each vendor’s own page on the date shown and will drift; Peec AI’s page showed plan names but no prices, so its row comes from third-party listings. Treat the table as a snapshot and the method as the point.

What the conversion shows

Three pricing models are hiding in the table. Per-prompt plans (AEOTrack, Otterly, Peec, Semrush, HubSpot) are cheapest to start and scale linearly. Credit-based plans (AthenaHQ, Rankscale) are hard to predict, because a credit buys different things on different engines. Index-based plans (Ahrefs Brand Radar) charge for large pre-built prompt sets rather than your own questions, which suits a brand that wants breadth and not one that needs its own buyer questions.

Engine add-ons change the ranking. Otterly’s $29 looks cheaper than AEOTrack’s $39 until you want Claude, Gemini and Google AI Mode, which are add-ons on its Lite plan (AEOTrack includes Gemini, Claude and Grok on every plan). Peec’s Starter covers three engines; more cost extra. If the engines your buyers use are not in the base plan, the entry price is not your price.

Daily reads are cheaper per answer; weekly reads are cheaper per month. Peec, Otterly and Semrush read every prompt daily, so each answer costs a few cents or less. AEOTrack reads every question weekly and a pinned few daily, so each answer costs more but the month costs less. That is the right trade if you act on changes week by week, and the wrong one if you want to see an experiment’s effect tomorrow.

How to choose

  1. List the engines your buyers actually use. Look at your referral traffic and ask five customers. If it is ChatGPT and Perplexity, a Google-heavy tool is measuring the wrong thing.
  2. Write the twenty questions a buyer types before they know your name. That is your prompt count; most products do not need fifty.
  3. Decide whether you need a daily read or a weekly one. Daily is worth paying for during a launch or an experiment; for a monthly report, weekly is enough.
  4. Price every tool at that prompt count, with those engines included, at that cadence, not at the entry price.
  5. Then compare what the tool does with a result. A tracker that reports a number is cheaper than one that tells you which sites to earn a mention on, and it should be.

Every tool above, side by side with the date it was checked: /compare. One-to-one: AEOTrack vs Peec AI, AEOTrack vs Otterly.AI.

See what the engines say about you.

Presence, position, citations and sentiment — across ChatGPT, Gemini, Claude, Perplexity and Grok. Free for 7 days, no credit card.

Start your free trial →